Lhasa – Mt. Kailash – Guge Kingdom Tour

Lhasa – Mt. Kailash – Guge Kingdom Tour

The Kingdom of Guge, founded in 868 and became a focal point for the preservation of Buddhism in Tibet until the 17th century. After the assassination of King Lang Darma in 842 by his own brother, the Buddhism in Tibet was completely snuffed out for nearly 100 years. In 1040, a renowned Indian Master named Atisha arrived in Guge Kingdom and spent some times at Toling Monastery where he created a resurgence of interest in Buddhism which eventually spread all over Tibet. Tsaparang and Toling retained their importance within Western Tibet as political and religious center until the 17th Century. Today, more than 300 years later, all the remains is a huge complex of caves, living quarters and temples, some of it in an excellent state of preservation, the rest in ruins. This place can be visited combining with Mt. Kailash and Lake Manasarovar via either northern route (Shiquanhe) or from southern route via Saga – Paryang and Manasarovar. The tour itinerary can be varied according to the time frame and places you would like to cover within the itinerary. Below, we have designed an itinerary that commences from Lhasa. In Lhasa, we spend a couple of days for sightseeing propose after that we continue our journey to Western Tibet via major highlighted places of central Tibet (Gyantse, Shigatse Sakya etc.). The tour eventually takes us to the Guge Kingdom and toward to Nepla via Zhang-Mu (the Tibetan border town).


Route: Lhasa – Mt. Kailash – Guge Kingdom and toward to Nepal via Zhang-Mu

Mode of transport : Land-cruiser

Maximum elevation : 5400m.




Day 01: Fly Kathamndu to Lhasa (3650m).

Day 02-3: Lhasa Sightseeing Tours:

Day 04: Lhasa – Gyantse (3650m / 260 Kms).

Day 05: Gyantse – Xigatse (3900 / 90 Kms).

Day 06: Xigatse – Latse (4000m / 180 Kms).

Day 07: Latse to Saga

Day 08: Saga to Prayang

Day 09: Prayang to Lake Manasarovar (4560m) Beyond Paryang

Day 10: Manasarovar Today we enjoy the tranquility at the lake,

Day 11: Manasarovar to Darchen (4560m)

Day 12: Kailash Kora / Parikrama – Darchen to Diraphuk Gomba The Kora / Parikrama

Day 13: Kailash Kora / Parikrama – Diraphuk to ZutulPuk Gompa (4790m)

Day 14: Kailash Kora / Parikrama – Zutul-Puk to Darchen (4560m)

Day 15: Finish trek and drive to Tirtha Puri

Day 16: TirthaPuri / Guge Kingdom

Day 17: Sightseeing around

Day 18: Guge Kingdom / Tirthapuri

Day 19: Tirthapuri / Gossul Gomba

Day 20: Gossul Gomba / Paryang

Day 21: Paryang / Saga

Day 22: Saga / Nyalam

Day 23: Nyalam / Zhangmu Border and Pick upand drive to Kathmandu.




The above cost includes the following services:

Tibet alien travel permits

Monasteries entrance fees and English-speaking guide

Accommodation with breakfast

All necessary land transportation by Japanese made Land cruiser

Sightseeing tours as per the program

Visa fee

Air ticket (Lhasa-Kathmandu)

Cost does not include:

Lunch and dinner

Airport taxes

Nepal re-entry visa fee


Expenses of personal nature

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: